Maiden Voyage

Ahoy there! Welcome aboard our maiden voyage! (Don’t worry, I’m not going to speak in sailing puns the entire time). I’m excited to start this new venture, though admittedly I don’t yet know what this new venture will actually be about.

While this blog is new for me, I am not new to the blogging community. I came up during the first wave of fashion bloggers back in 2008 when I wrote at the blog District Couture. My love of writing and style led me to start a fashion blog which turned into a job blogging and managing social media for a private label clothing brand. I was one of those lucky folks whose blog turned into an actual job! Not long after blogging about fashion became my full time job, blogging about fashion in my free time started to feel like work, and poof went my creative outlet. It was a great ride for awhile, but let’s just say all that glitters is not gold. As a result, I lost some of my passion for fashion, and I let District Couture fall by the wayside, which I felt tremendously guilty about for some time. Perhaps I’ll discuss “blogger guilt” in a future blog post.

After taking a few years off from blogging — and switching jobs, and moving to two new cities — I am back in the blogosphere as Maiden September (you can learn about the name here). I’ve tossed and toiled about what this blog would be about for quite some time now. I spent so much time thinking it through that I now realize I wasted valuable time actually being creative and having fun with my blog.

I don’t know yet what Maiden September will be about. It’s a blog in search of a genre. (Right now, it’s about me doing anything to avoid doing the dishes…) I do know that I used to love writing and I need to get back to that. I’m blessed (and you’re cursed) because I can type as fast as I can think (so you may want to save yourselves now because there’s a high likelihood of verbose posts in the near future). I know that I have a lot I want to share and if no one reads this blog but me, that’s ok. I’m the only person this blog has to answer to and that actually feels pretty good!

So after overthinking it for far too long, my fingers are now in control and you and I are along for the ride. Thank you for joining me on this, our maiden voyage. Now let’s go wherever the wind blows us.

Elizabeth Goudge The Scent of Water

4 thoughts on “Maiden Voyage

Leave a Reply

